Note Assist FAQs

What is Note Assist and how does it work?

Note Assist is a dedicated mental health video-calling platform. It uses AI to automatically transcribe the session and create suggested summary notes for your provider. Alma does not have access to the transcript used to create suggested notes.

Why does my therapist use Note Assist?

Note Assist saves your provider time taking notes and helps them identify themes so they can be more present in sessions and invest more time in you.

Will anything about our sessions change?

If you have virtual sessions:

When your provider uses Note Assist for a virtual session, the session is held via Alma Telehealth.  If your provider already uses Alma Telehealth outside of Note Assist, the session link will be the same. However, if your provider uses a different telehealth platform, like Zoom, the session link will be different. Either way, you’ll be able to join sessions the same way, by clicking the link in your session invite.

If you have in-person sessions:

If your provider is using Note Assist to create notes during an in-person session, they’ll need to have their computer so that Note Assist can record a transcript of the session. These recordings and transcripts are always automatically deleted and no one can access it.

Is my data still safe if my provider uses Note Assist?

Yes. Note Assist securely records the session with your provider and automatically generates a transcript. That transcript is then used as the basis for Note Assist to help your provider create progress notes. The session recording is automatically deleted after Note Assist generates a note for your provider to review and finalize. Once your provider finalizes their note, the transcript is automatically deleted as well. If your provider has not finalized their note after 7 days, the transcript is automatically deleted. In addition to the transcript and session recording being encrypted and stored on a secure server while the note is generated: 

  • No human has access to the recording or transcript 
  • Session data is never used to “train” AI models.

No one besides your provider can access your information. The only exception is if your provider requests assistance that requires Alma to access their account, but this process is tightly safeguarded. Alma will not access your information without first receiving your provider’s permission, and our platform is designed to limit unnecessary or inappropriate access to and disclosure of protected health information (PHI).

Can I request to have my progress notes deleted?

Your provider can reach out to Alma to fulfill requests to delete progress notes. Please discuss with them if you’d like your data deleted.

Am I able to access or request my progress notes from my provider?

This is up to your provider’s discretion. Please discuss with them if you’d like to request notes.

Was this article helpful?

7 out of 8 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request